Saturday, March 7, 2009
Williamsburg, Virginia: The Capitol
Colonial Virginia needed a new place for legislation when the Jamestown Statehouse burned down in 1698. The location was moved to what is now Williamsburg, and the Capitol was constructed. Here's a look at the middle of the building. The Court was on one side, the House of Burgesses was on the other.
The Virginia legislature still meets in the room once every couple of years as a salute to tradition.
Visitors now get a standard tour of the building until they reach the Burgesses' chamber. The tour guide there not only reviews the history of the room, but starts an unexpectedly fascinating discussion about the rights of the governed as perceived by Colonial Williamsburg. The kiddies might be a bit bored, but the man knows what he's talking about. Might have been the best part of the visit.